bookwormchatterbox

Little reviews on little (and big!) books

Liebster Award!

on March 18, 2014

Firstly, I’d like to thank both Bookarino and Turning Pages and Tea for their nominations! It really means a lot that you’re enjoying reading my little blog 🙂 As I was nominated by 2 different bloggers, I’ll try to answer a mix of their questions!

 

 

 

 

The Rules:

  1. Thank the blogger that nominated you and link back to their blog.
  2. Display the award somewhere on your blog.
  3. List 11 facts about yourself.
  4. Answer 11 questions chosen by the blogger that nominated you.
  5. Come up with 11 new questions to ask your nominees.
  6. Nominate 5-11 blogs that you think deserve the award and who have less than 1,000 followers. (You may nominate blogs that have already received the award, but you cannot renominate the blog that nominated you.)
  7. Go to their blog and inform them that they’ve been nominated.

11 Little Facts About Me!

  • I have a great love for pandas, zebras, and penguins – I saw them all at Edinburgh Zoo last year and it made my day!
  • I love black and white pictures, especially of New York, Paris, or from movies.
  • I can speak very VERY basic Spanish 🙂
  • My favourite TV shows (at the moment!) are Catfish, The Vampire Diaries, The Originals, Southland, and my soap of choice has to be Neighbours!
  • I graduated from the University of Glasgow (which tends to be compared with Hogwarts a lot!) with an MA(Hons) in English Literature and Philosophy, and then an M.Litt in Victorian Literature.
  • I spend way too much time on Facebook when I really should be reading!
  • I’m a massive fan of theRadBrad’s walkthrough videos on YouTube 🙂
  • Converse are my favourite shoes – I even have a Catwoman pair 🙂
  • I don’t have a favourite novel – I just have a shortlist that keeps growing! The main members of that list are Dracula by Stoker, and anything by Gaskell, Collins, or Zola. Dickens is NOT on the list. I’m not a fan.
  • I have a leatherbound edition of the works of Shakespeare because I love his plays.
  • I can bake an amazing peppermint slice, and can serve up a lovely carrot and coriander soup 🙂

11 Questions from Bookarino and Turning Pages and Tea

What are you reading right now?

I’m currently in the middle of a re-read of Wuthering Heights. It’s been a while since I read it. I hope to do a blog post on it at some point, but I felt I had to go through it again so I could actually remember who everyone was! Slightly easier to get my head around the Cathy/Catherine difference now!

What is the worst book you have ever read?

I have a few which I have really hated. They’ve been so bad that I’ve actually been angry at the end because I’ll never get that time back again! I really didn’t like Orlando by Virginia Woolf, The Warden by Anthony Trollope, but my main problem lies with anything by James Joyce. I’ll probably outrage a lot of people, but I really don’t like his work. I can’t stand any sort of experimental, abstract writing so he’s a definite no-no for me.

What is the book that you recommend to people most often?

I would say I definitely push a lot of Gaskell on people! 🙂 I adore her novels, and I just want everyone else to experience what a great storyteller she is. That, and Dracula.

What made you become a book blogger?

To be honest, I’d never really thought about it before November last year. I think I thought it would be a bit hard to set up, and I didn’t think anyone would read it anyway! I finished my postgraduate Masters, and I just thought, why not? I have read so many books at University – some I’ve loved, some I’ve disliked – and it felt like a good time to share my thoughts with all the other bookworms out there! I’m so glad I did start blogging, and I’m so grateful to those of you who read, like, and comment on my posts 🙂

Do you have a specific place where you read?

The best place for me to read has always been either tucked up in bed, or lying on the sofa. Comfort is key for me – once I’m comfy, I can lose myself.

What is the longest book you have ever read?

I try to avoid Dickens, not because I think they’re too long, but I simply believe that they are unnecessarily long. East Lynne by Ellen Wood was a biggie, as was Armadale by Wilkie Collins, but I think the longest novel I’ve read (and finished!) was He Knew He Was Right by Anthony Trollope. That book was a monster!

What is your favourite poem (if you have one)?

I’ve never really understood poetry. I like books as I feel I can immerse myself in the story, whereas a poem can be over so quickly. Most of the time I can’t even decipher a meaning from poems so I tend to shy away from them. However, during my literature courses, I’ve come across my fair share of poetry, and I would have to say that I quite like some of John Donne’s work.

Which book/books have influenced you the most?

I would have to say that any books I have used to write important pieces of work have had the biggest influences on me. They have helped me to graduate twice, and to be in the position I am today, so in some ways, I’m quite grateful to them! 🙂 So novels like Armadale, The Law and the Lady, East Lynne, Lady Audley’s Secret, Aurora Floyd, and the texts involving female detectives (which are on the blog!) have been most influential.

How would you describe yourself as a reader?

I’m a very picky reader, I think. Only the best make it on to my reading list 😛 Although, it’s sometimes nice just to read a bit of chick-lit for a little chillout on holiday 🙂 No Twilight though!

What is your opinion on reading e-books?

I’ve always liked to read with a physical book in my hand, but due to some classics being out of print, I do read e-books. I found that these free e-books came in very handy when University reading lists included books that had been out of print for years! I like that I can leave markers and highlight important points on an e-book just as I would on a book, but at the end of the day, nothing beats looking through my bookshelf 🙂

Do you sometimes fake that you’ve read a book that you actually haven’t?

I can honestly say I’ve never faked about reading a certain book. Everyone has different tastes on literature, and I don’t think there should be any need to pretend to have read a book that maybe doesn’t interest you. Plus, you’ll get found out pretty quickly when someone asks you the plot! 😛

11 Questions for Nominees

  • Do you have a favourite book?
  • What made you start blogging?
  • If you could take 5 books with you to a desert island, which ones would you choose?
  • What is the worst book you have ever read?
  • Are you reading anything right now?
  • What is the shortest and/or longest book you have read?
  • Where do you read?
  • When did you discover your passion for reading?
  • How do you arrange your bookshelf? (e.g. by colour, by author, etc)
  • Do you think more people should read the classics?
  • Which book do you recommend most to others?

My Nominees

Acid Free Pulp

The Reading Girl

Cleopatra Loves Books

Fiction Fan

Fleur in her World

12 responses to “Liebster Award!

  1. emma says:

    Of course, I would also nominate Bookarino and Turning Pages and Tea if I could! x

  2. Thanks for my nomination Emma. My daughter introduced me to Catfish, it is like watching a car crash but totally addictive, I’m going cold turkey after overdosing while ill 😉

  3. bookarino says:

    Great answers & questions! Converse♥ Unfortunately my current pair of Converse is on its last legs, so I need to buy new ones for the summer. And pushing Gaskell on people is never a bad thing! 😀

  4. Thank you for the nomination.

    I wouldn’t label Orlando as the worst book, but I certainly didn’t like it and just powered through it for my university course.

    • emma says:

      It was the same for me – it was required reading on my first year course. I just really didn’t enjoy it at all, and out of all the books I’ve read, it ranks pretty highly on my dislike list. Perhaps I might enjoy other works by Woolf, but I just felt that Orlando didn’t make any sense whatsoever.

  5. FictionFan says:

    Thanks for the nomination, Emma – I feel very honoured! 😀

    I enjoyed your answers, especially seeing where we agree and disagree about books. I’m with you about James Joyce, but I’ll have to seriously try to get you to change your mind about Dickens. 😉

    • emma says:

      No problem at all! 🙂 People tend to wonder why I don’t like Joyce so it’s nice to find someone else who agrees with me! I just think in the sphere of literature there are far greater writers and storytellers so I’ll stick to them 🙂

      I’m always open to changing my opinions on writers 🙂 I don’t dislike Dickens – I quite enjoyed Hard Times, and I’ve read the usual Oliver Twist and Great Expectations, but every time I try to sit down with one of the longer ones, I just feel it’s like a task, and that makes me put it down. But who knows, maybe one day I’ll be converted! 😛

      • FictionFan says:

        Bleak House is the best – in fact, it’s my favourite book of all time. But I agree – it’s a huge brick of a book. So, great for exercising your biceps while you read… 😉

      • emma says:

        Haha I never thought of it that way! Saves on a gym membership, I suppose 😛

  6. alexraphael says:

    Great answers.I like the facts too. Edinburgh Zoo sounds awesome too.

Leave a Reply

