bookwormchatterbox

Little reviews on little (and big!) books

Moving On To The Next Zola

on December 15, 2013

I’ve only read one book by the legendary Émile Zola, but I’m absolutely hooked on his writing style. It’s so gritty and emotive – quite different to anything I’ve read before. After discovering his books at University, I feel I simply have to read as many of his works as possible which is which is why I’ve recently started Thérèse Raquin. I have a feeling I will absolutely love this book just as much as L’Assommoir, especially after reading Zola’s preface addressed to the critics of the novel. That alone is a masterpiece that had me smiling to myself on the train 🙂 Even if you don’t get a chance to read the book, make sure you find the preface somewhere.

Anyway, once I’ve completed the book, I’ll post a little review of it and let you all know what it’s like 🙂 Until then, I’ll be blogging on another Victorian novel soon so please stay tuned!

Thanks again for all of the likes and follows – it really means a lot 🙂

One response to “Moving On To The Next Zola

  1. good for you! my favorite, that I’ve read many times, is The Dream, a small one, far in the series. Thanks for welcoming my blog, fun to my another Emma book blogger. I follow another one, in France

Leave a Reply

